Skip to main content

Governance Structure


The structure of the SRC has undergone a series of transformation over the years as a result of the amendments and review of its constitution. Presently, the council is made up of three major working bodies Vis, the executive council, the judicial council and parliamentary council.



This body like the executive arm of government at the national level is the policy initiating and implementing body of the entire SRC. It comprises the executive committee and the executive officers; which is made up of the President, the Vice president, the General Secretary and the Treasurer (executive committee). The Public Relations Officer(PRO), the Entertainment Chairman, the Welfare Chairman, Transport Commissioner, the Properties and facilities Commissioner, the Clubs and societies Commissioner, and the local NUGS President. Other officers appointed by the president in consultation with the executive committee are not part of the executive council and they include the Trade and Technology Chairman, the Projects Coordinator and the Sponsorship Coordinator etc. The president chairs the executive council.



This came about as a result of the review of the SRC constitution in 2007 hence the first parliamentary council is that of the 2008/09 SRC year. The parliamentary council has two representatives from each of the six colleges, the presidents of the six junior common room committees, president of the International Students' Association (lSA), the Women's Commissioner, the president of the Graduate Students Association of Ghana, (GRASAG) and the clerk of Parliament who is the secretary to the Council. The parliamentary council deliberates on the policies of the executive council and other matters of students' concern and passes resolutions. It also approves all appointees of the president.



The judicial council comprises the judicial committee, the legal affairs commission and the general officer command of the university cadet corps. The judicial committee has the power to adjudicate on matters brought under its jurisdiction. The judicial council chairman chairs the judicial council and presides over judicial committee sittings.